Posted by: pkab | 17 April 2008

The Creative Week


By: Laura

You may recall since my last updates that I’ve had quite a bit going on over the summer: two weddingCreative_week_mind_map1 ceremonies, my husband’s move to America from the UK, and the boys going back to school (whew!). Unbelievably, once the dust settled, I found a new focus on business. I’ve been working on my new product which I’ll be announcing soon!

I thought I’d share with you a mind map I did recently. My husband went back to the UK for a week, and I decided that would be the ideal time for THE CREATIVE WEEK! A week devoted to filling up inspirationally and writing and creating articles and this new product.

Here is a picture of the mind map I made to remind me of my focus for the week. I thought I’d share what I put on the map and how it helped the creative process and focus.

I had several pieces I wanted to write and lest I forget what they were with all this open time – I put them on the map.

Then I listed baby steps underneath each mini-project. For example, Write My Free Article was one piece I wanted to write. To make it easier I listed the baby steps….Pull previous article as a guide, list my additional ideas, expand, edit. Why did I do this? I don’t know about you but I tend to freeze when a project idea is too big. I need the little teenie, tiny baby steps so I can get myself into action. The baby steps typically aren’t hard, and it’s the best way for me to get the flow going.

I gave my Creative Week a theme: Momentum Marathon! Easy, Natural & Fun! (This makes me smile, which makes me relax, which allows for more flow of ideas!)

I also added what I wanted to be feeling on Friday afternoon: I wanted a Big Smile! I wanted a feeling of accomplishment – I wanted to be surprised – I wanted my Marathon to bring more ideas! – I wanted to KNOW that this project IS happening!

Next, I added lots of color. Color always engages me. I added smiling faces of women to remind me of the impact on those joyful business owners who are going to love what I’m up to! And I added $$ signs to remind me that this wasn’t just a creative week…this also had potential to add dollars into my pocket. Both of these icons reminded me (depending on my mood) why I was doing this to begin with.

Lastly, I added some resources: Who I can call for help if (when) I get stuck or talk myself out of my “great idea”. I set up my week for success. I let those people know that I was having a Momentum Marathon and asked for their support. It was wonderful because I could pick up the phone if I got stuck and receive some great championing. I also received several emails throughout the week checking in with me and cheering me on!

I found that posting my map right up on the wall in front of me had me smiling all week, and reminded me of where I wanted to keep my focus.

How could you use something like this for a project you are working on?

I would love to see your ideas for your focus mind maps or other tools you use!

In the creative flow,

Laura

Source: Cafe Entrepreneur


Responses

  1. Artikel di blog ini sangat bagus dan berguna bagi para pembaca. Agar lebih populer, Anda bisa mempromosikan artikel Anda di infoGue.com yang akan berguna bagi semua pembaca di seluruh Indonesia. Tersedia plugin / widget kirim artikel & vote yang ter-integrasi dengan instalasi mudah & singkat. Salam Blogger!

    http://bisnis-online-adsense.infogue.com/
    http://bisnis-online-adsense.infogue.com/the_creative_week


Leave a Reply

Categories

