Posted by: pkab | 3 March 2008

Baby Mind Map


By: Halwafy

I (Halwafy) was pregnant when I sat for my 2nd level CFA exam. I only studied 3 months for that exam and I passed it, a lucky thing really – since I could hardly sit on that exam chair without wiping under my knees every few minutes because I was sweating so much (pregnant women tend to feel very hot!) and with the nausea I felt later in the exam when somebody had the gall to vomit in the hall during the exam – as if she had the time to do that with all the writing we had to do in that exam!

My eldest son, who was then in my womb, and now 5 years old, (Alhamdulillah) was actually affected by those 3 months of my studying, memorising notes and drawing mind maps until the wee hours of morning. The reason I know this is because; he likes to memorise things and he likes to learn. And, I just found out – he can draw mind maps!

He was studying the London Underground (Tube) map the other day, in fact he has been studying the map everyday this last week and suddenly came out with this diagram, using the correct colour code of the map; H: Hammersmith & City (Pink line), D: District (Green line), C: Circle (Yellow line) J: Jubilee (Grey line). P: Picadilly (Dark Blue line).

And the rest?

‘What’s this abang?’ I said, pointing at the 2 circles, on the leftside of the smiley face.
‘A ‘spotted’ spaceship!’ he said proudly.
‘Okay….what about this one?’ I said, pointing at the ‘123’ below the smiley face.
‘Numbers!’

I guess it’s true what my friend, (who sat for that exam with me but unfortunately did not pass) told me: ‘It’s not fair! You had two heads answering those questions – it’s no wonder you passed!’ Well, I guess she was right. My baby was studying those mind maps with me and helped me with my exams – how else could I have passed that crazy exam?

Simply amazing.

Source: The Malaysian Housewife in London


Leave a comment

Categories